P.S. I love Ireland

Most girls and teens know the movie called P.S. I love you with Gerard Butler and Hillary Swank … Well, I was not one of them. I did not know of the movie until shortly before I went to Ireland. I didn’t even know it was a book until I was in Ireland. So before I went looking for my Gerard Butler in the Wicklow Mountains I had to educated myself with the pop culture. This led to a girls movie night right before we went on a tour through the Wicklow Mountains and Glendalough tour. The movie was pretty nice, but I bought the book a couple days later to get the full experience.

This day I was pretty sick so it was a little bit of a struggle to do all the walking and stay awake. There was a lot of napping and praying that I wouldn’t throw up on the bus. The weather added to my sick self by being extremely cold and rainy. This did nothing to ruin the day though.

Our first stop was the Wicklow Mountains. Beautiful area with lakes, rolling green hills, and of course the Mountainous terrain. Our tour guide made sure that we stopped at the bridge where part of the P.S. I Love You movie was filmed. Sadly, Gerard Butler was not standing there waiting for us. This day included a lot of driving so we could see every view the park had to offer us!

 

The second highlight of this day outing was Glendalough. The wind was starting to settle down by the time we arrived so, that made it a little more enjoyable. Our first site was the Glendalough Graveyard where our guide gave us history stories and facts. It was a strange site to walk past. Mainly because my friends and I had umbrellas, it was gloomy out, and it looked like I was crying because of my sniffles. After the Graveyard half of us went and walked down the path to the lower lake. WE saw the upper lake earlier in the day, ending at the lower lake made the trip come full circle. It was an easy 15 minute or so walk that was surrounded by trees that helped block the rain.

This trip ended the best way possibly. Everyone on our bus took a shot of Irish Whiskey together, including sick little me. I’m pretty sure it helped me feel better.

As always…

Stay Wandering,

Cayl

Next Post: Belfast, Northern Ireland

Leave a comment